A little about me

My husband and I have been dreaming and planning for one day, the day when we will live on land (about 20-40 acres), have 5+ children running around (while taking breaks from their schooling), lots of animals (pets & farm animals) & a HUGE garden.

But…

for the time being we are in the city. And it’s fine. My mom and I joke about how fine really doesn’t mean fine, it actually means “it’s horrible but I’ll deal with it”.

I wanted to start a blog to challenge us and keep us accountable.

One day I had an epiphany and I said, “why can’t we start living now, how we would live out in the country”.  Some of it I already do like, hang up cloth diapers on the clothesline and bake my own bread. But, some of it I need to start working on like using grey water, composting and gardening.

So, this blog is to help others, learn more and challenge us to live like we were out in the country.

A little about me:

My husband, Josiah, and I have been married for almost 7 years. I have known him since I was 6 years old. His sister and I were best friends which meant lots of sleep overs where I was just super annoying to him. Years went by and we started dating when I was 16.

We have a daughter, Alexa, she is 8 months old. She is our bundle of joy. Alexa has big, beautiful blue eyes framed with long lashes. She is very intelligent and active, she already knows what she wants and what she doesn’t (I think we are going to be in trouble when the toddler age comes). But, that all aside, she is a HUGE blessing. I had 2 miscarriages before she was born and it was such a struggle but I learned that God is good in the midst of that and I am a stronger person for going through that.

We live in Kansas City, Missouri in a small starter home. We have 2 dogs (Gunner & Bullet) and 2 cats (Ruger & Rivet).

I work at a salon part-time as a hair stylist. I am co-founder of Kingdom Kids, an organization for children in foster care. Our biggest event of the year is a week-long summer camp free to these children!

I love a good chai tea latte (or really anything that’s delicious), looking at the stars, filling out a new calendar and making lists.

How the name came about:

We never identified ourselves as “crunchy” (definition: Adjective. Used to describe persons who have adjusted or altered their lifestyle for environmental reasons. Crunchy persons tend to be politically strongly left-leaning and may be additionally but not exclusively categorized as vegetarians, vegans, eco-tarians, conservationists, environmentalists, neo-hippies, tree huggers, nature enthusiasts, etc. – Urban Dictionary)

But, we do cloth diaper, use glass baby bottles and hang clothes on the clothesline. I had a non-medicated birth. My husband hunts and provides food for us that way. We try and do most things around the house ourselves to save money.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jacki says:

    I’ve been trying to implement a few of our dreams here in the city, too!! I was doing really good making my own bread, and then finals hit last semester, and I lost my momentum! I think this summer we’re going to plant a few potted plants outside of our apartment, too, for some fresh veggies!

    Like

    1. Lauren Young says:

      Yes! I plan on doing a post on homemade bread (and tortillas, hamburger buns, etc.) I started an herb garden here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s